Weekend Snippets + Goals for the Week

IMG_20160314_104109

A few Sundays ago I picked up the little community newspaper that gets delivered here once a week and asked Will if we could try to do the crossword puzzle together. Although each of us alone can only complete about half a crossword, with our combined knowledge we actually managed to finish one without help last night. We felt like we had conquered the world, despite the fact that it apparently took 52 years of experience between us to have the ability to finish a single crossword puzzle. :)

win kitty winning yzma emperors new groove

Despite our ineptitude, it’s turning into a fun tradition that we really enjoy.

Also, check out those beautiful birthday flowers! Will snagged 4 packets of flower food when he picked these beauties and it’s kept the roses going strong for over a week now. He has beauty AND brains, I tell you.

Not much else to report this weekend. We went for walks around the neighborhood to soak up the beautiful blue skies and sunshine, and we curled up on the couch in the evenings to listen to all the frogs sing in the creek behind our apartment. I made pulled pork and coleslaw and buttermilk biscuits (because I was too lazy to make hamburger buns), Will kept me up-to-date on politics, and Beatrice kept us busy and laughing. We all took naps.

Oh, and Daylight Savings Time. Actually it didn’t really hit me until today, but it hit with a vengeance.

If I were allowed to drink a pot of coffee right now, I would. Baby H., on the other hand, appears to be practicing his/her flying ninja kicks at present, so he/she probably doesn’t need the jolt.

Anyway, before I stop rambling, I thought I’d share three goals I’m planning to work on this week.

  1. Write birthday thank you notes. And mail them. That’s an important detail.
  2. Balance checkbook. I got a bit behind after the move and need to catch up a few weeks so I can return to balancing it every Monday again.
  3. Hang up all our clothes in the bedroom closet. Almost all of our boxes are unpacked, but I still have a box of clothes I need to hang up, and a suitcase I need to empty and put away so I’m not living out of it like a gypsy in my own closet.

BONUS ROUND: Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day! Wear green, bake soda bread, wear out my Celtic Pandora stations, the whole nine yards. This is just for fun, but I thought I’d start myself off easy this week. ;)

What about you all – any weekend highlights or goals for the week?

IMG_20160314_174623 (3)

Beatrice has a lot on her agenda this week too (she just discovered the joy of scribbling with a pencil today), so I’d better go see what she’s planning to do with all those Mad Gab cards she’s trying to make Origami out of currently… TTFN. :)

2 thoughts on “Weekend Snippets + Goals for the Week

  1. BEATRICE – Such a little cutie.
    Crosswords are fun, aren’t they? I always get stuck in pop culture (unless it’s geeky, then I own it), celebrities, and/or politics.
    I’ve been quite out of politics since William left MI. Glad to know he’s still giving the daily political minute though :) Love you guys!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

