Bring on the Wednesday

I woke up to a beautiful Wednesday. Cool morning light filtering gently into the room, the fan whirring peacefully, birds singing outside – perfection. :)

When I walked into the kitchen I discovered that last night I had carefully put the leftovers away into containers, stacked them neatly on the counter, washed the dishes, and then… apparently forgotten to place said leftovers in the fridge.

When I’m pregnant I really do feel like I only have half a brain most of the time. Thankfully I had packed Will’s portion and actually remembered to put his lunch bag in the fridge (it’s a miracle!), but I had to say a sad goodbye to a beautiful stack of bbq pork nachos I had planned to devour today. For a split second I wondered whether they really had to be thrown out after 10 hours on the counter… but when I searched my feelings I knew it to be true. ;)

A minor setback, but ah well, continuing on with my day.

NOPE. :)

I went into Beatrice’s room and immediately discovered that her diaper had been no match for her impressive level of hydration during the night. Much to her delight, she got a morning bath, while the pajamas and bedding involved took a direct route to the washing machine and did not pass go.

This short spiral of minor chaos was pretty inconsequential in the grand scheme of things, but when experienced in a pre-caffeinated state before 7:30am, it felt a lot more dire. Of course, consequentially, I also felt a lot more impressive about throwing out food and doing laundry than I probably should have, haha.

legolasbackhand

Yeah take that, Wednesday.

Actually, it’s shaping up to be a pretty great day. I’m thankful that I remembered to pack Will’s lunch and refrigerate it, and that there is plenty of other food in the fridge. I’m thankful for a sweet, cheerful little girl who was thrilled to get a bath first thing in the morning and is always a joy to hang out with. I’m thankful for a warm, sunny, beautiful new day filled with surprises. Life is good. :)

IMG_20160316_1702471

As an aside, I thought I was a morning person, but this little lady goes from fast asleep to laughing and chattering in 60 seconds flat… it’s truly astounding. And she doesn’t even drink coffee! She is the cheeriest cheerio I know, and I am so thankful for her sunny disposition. :)

What’s up in your world? :)

3 thoughts on “Bring on the Wednesday

  1. Aah, I know how those mornings go. :) Actually, one of my coworkers wasn’t feeling well this morning, so I had to go in to work earlier than planned. It’s amazing how a little thing like that can throw off the pacing of the day.

    Like

  2. The gif game is strong with you, my friend ;)
    I feel your pain! It’s like the mornings I go in to do a book order, and suddenly there are dozens of people wanting food *with zero warning.* ALL before I’ve had my coffee. Unlike Beatrice, I can’t even function before coffee (I speak backwards, too)
    Glad your day got better though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

